Learning and growing

Alice,  Age 75

I was 75 in april.  I have 2 married children and 6 grandkids ranging from 13 to 29.  Two of my my grandkids r married.  I taught art and ballet for 30 years for the NYC board of education in the south bronx.  It was a tough job but it prepared me for travel in many 3rd world countries.  When I retired I got a job as a tour guide and went all over the world for 2 years leading tours.  I got fired when my daughter had a baby and had post partum depression.  I asked for time off in high season and was told nobody gets time off in high season….if u leave it’s good by and good luck.  Of course I left and helped my daughter .

I have been divorced since 1970, but I live with a man since 1976. we r not married as i don’t believe in marriage for myself any more.  I have a home in south florida and a home in a ny suburb.  I take belly dance lessons and spend at least an hour a day walking my dog.  I try to travel when ever I can as a way of learning, and growing.  I hope to stay healthy enough to live a full exciting life…meeting new people, seeing new things, learning new languages, and connecting with my grandkids. this summer I plan to tour the Rhine river and amsterdam with my almost 16 year old grandgirl.  I hope she can keep up with me!!!!

This entry was posted in 70candles, Family matters, Goals ahead, Looking ahead, Our bodies, our health, Share your story, Traveling, What do we do with our time? and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *